San Francisco skyline

Urban Infrastructure Council

intersection with construction in background

Urban Infrastructure Council

BART station tracks

Urban Infrastructure Council

construction in San Francisco

Urban Infrastructure Council

About the Urban Infrastructure Council

The Urban Infrastructure Council (UIC) comprises select SPUR business members from architecture, engineering, design and construction. This group meets monthly and brings together firms to provide updates on projects, improve processes, resolve problems and strategize about ways to build public support for necessary investments.

Membership in UIC is by invitation only. If you are interested in joining, please email Kalynn Blakely at [email protected] for more information.



  • Ben Tripousis, Senior Project Manager, Associate Vice President, HNTB
  • Carsten Voecker, Construction Manager, Vice President, Plant Construction Company
  • Sarah Young, Marketing Director, Senior Associate, Gensler

2022 Speakers:

  • Aaron Tartakovsky, Epic Cleantec
  • John Ristow, San Jose Department of Transporation
  • Ivar Satero, San Francisco International Airport
  • Boris Lipkin, the California High-Speed Rail Authority
  • Michael Boland, The Presidio Trust
  • Matthew Cook and Kerry Shanahan, UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital, and Francesa Vega, UCSF
  • Kevin Conger, CMG Landscape Architecture, David Smith and Kelly Stockton, Plant Construction
  • Dan Safier, Prado Group
  • Swathi Bonda and Jack Sylvan, Brookfield Properties
  • Christopher Shay,San Jose State University, Christen Soares, Field Paoli Architects, and Megan Gee, ARUP
  • Ralph Remington, the San Francisco Arts Commission
2021 Speakers:
  • Sheela Jivan, Google, and Laura Crescimano, SITELAB Urban Studios
  • Rich Hillis, San Francisco Planning Department
  • Wendy Hillis and Marissa Cheng, UC Berkeley
  • Fran Weld, San Francisco Giants
  • Licinia Iberri and Rafe Rabalais, SFMTA
  • Kate Faust and Nishad Joshi, San Francisco Office of Resilience and Capital Planning
  • Georgia Gann Dohrmann, MTC/ABAG
  • Laura Tolkoff, SPUR, Gwen Litvak, Bay Area Council and Jason Baker, Silicon Valley Leadership Group
  • Brian Strong, Office of Resilience and Capital Planning, City and County of San Francisco
  • Chris Meany, Wilson Meany
  • John Varela, Santa Clara Valley Water District

Member Companies

Aedis Architects
BKF Engineers
Brown and Caldwell
Cahill Contractors
Hart Howerton Architects Design
Hathaway Dinwiddie
JRDV Architects Inc
Kohn Pedersen Fox
Pankow Builders Ltd.
Plant Construction Company
Sherwood Design Engineers
Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill (SOM)
Steinberg Hart
Suffolk Construction
SWA Group
Swinerton Builders
Webcor Builders
As of December 2022
crowd of people looking at tour guide in front of water treatment facility
people talking in groups
Zoom meeting
crowd approaching field station in the Presidio