San Jose

SPUR Impact Awards

11:30 a.m. | Friday, March 20, 2020


Mark your calendars for next year's event - March 20, 2020 



The SPUR Impact Awards acknowledge outstanding impact by public sector employees in city and county government in Santa Clara County who are making a difference within government and the community at large in the areas of housing, transportation, placemaking and urban design, and sustainability and resilience.


Nominations for the 2020 SPUR Impact Awards are now open!

Download 2020 Nomination Packet





The SPUR Impact Awards will honor those making a difference within government and the community at large. Department heads within city and county governments in Santa Clara County, general managers or CEOs at eligible public agencies, and executive directors and board members at eligible nonprofits may nominate individuals or teams within their organizations who have completed significant accomplishments in any of the following areas:

  • Housing- Increasing supply and affordability
  • Transportation- Giving people better ways to get where they need to go
  • Placemaking and urban design- Building great neighborhoods
  • Sustainability and resilience- Reducing our ecological footprint and making our cities resilient
  • Community Advocacy- Promoting urbanist principles via community-based engagement and advocacy

Winners will be recognized at the SPUR Impact Awards luncheon to be held on March 20, 2020, at the Computer History Museum.

All nominations must be received by October 31, 2019to be considered.

The SPUR Impact Awards is in partnership with the Cities Association of Santa Clara County.

For further information, please contact Kat Kester at


Download Sponsorship Packet


Our sponsors are important partners who acknowledge the contributions and lifetime achievements of these remarkable leaders in Santa Clara County.

Sponsors receive tickets to the luncheon and recognition in all event promotion including the SPUR website, email invitations, program and signage.



More sponsorship information will be available in late 2019.







2019's Impact Awards

Thank you to the guests and sponsors who joined us for the inaugural 2019 SPUR Impact Awards luncheon


Congratulations again to the 2019 SPUR Impact Award Recipients

 Martin Alkire

 North Bayshore Precise Plan
 City of Mountain View



Better BikewaySJ
  Peter Bennett, Anthony Do,
  Octavio Duran, Shu Su, Kyle Tanhueco
  City of San Jose

  Consuelo Hernandez

  Office of Supportive Housing
  County of Santa Clara

    Vallco Town Center Specific Plan

    Piu Ghosh, Catarina Kidd, Chad Mosley, David Stillman
    City of Cupertino

Special acknowledgment for regional collaboration:

Silicon Valley Clean Energy Core Staff Implementation Team
Kevin Armstrong (Santa Clara County), Steve Attinger (Mountain View), Don Bray (SVCE), Erin Cooke (Cupertino), Tim Kirby (Sunnyvale), Elaine Marshall (Milpitas), Misty Mersich (Cupertino), Demetra McBride (Santa Clara County), Andrea Pizano (SVCE), Melody Tovar (Sunnyvale)


Photos available at

Videos of the award recipients can be viewed here -


2019 Event Co-Chairs:

Dianne McKenna                                                   Larry Stone    
Former Santa Clara County Supervisor               Santa Clara County Assessor
Former Sunnyvale Mayor                                      Former Sunnyvale Mayor                    


2019 Awards Selection Committee: 

Fahmida Ahmed Bangert, Stanford

Leslye Corsiglia, SV@Home 

Fred Diaz, Retired, Fremont City Manager

Natalie Engels, Gensler

Sid Espinosa, Microsoft   

Alicia John-Baptiste, SPUR

Andi Jordan, Cities Association of Santa Clara County

Maya Perkins, Facebook

Liz Scanlon, Kimley-Horn

Tim Steele, The Sobrato Organization


In partnership with 

2019 Honorary Host Committee:

Cities Association of Santa Clara County Executive Board


Hon. Manny Cappello


Mayor,  Saratoga


Hon. Larry Klein

1st Vice President

Mayor,  Sunnyvale


Hon. Marico Sayoc

2nd Vice President

Councilmember, Los Gatos


Hon. Chappie Jones


Vice Mayor, San José


Hon. Margaret Abe-Koga

Legislative Action Committee Chair

Vice Mayor, Mountain View


Hon. Rod Sinks

Past – President

Councilmember, Cupertino


James Lindsay

SCCCMA Representative

City Manager, Saratoga


Andi Jordan

Executive Director

2019 Sponsors




Refund Policy

Individual ticket purchases. If you request a refund between 2 and 10 business days prior to the event, SPUR can issue a 25 percent refund. Requests for refunds received less than 2 days prior to an event cannot be accommodated.

Sponsorship payments will not be refunded, as sponsorship benefits take effect immediately and are on-going through the date of the event.

Auxiliary Services

If, in order to participate in a SPUR event, you need auxiliary aids or services for a disability (e.g., qualified interpreter, qualified reader, written materials, taped texts) please submit your request five business days before the event to or 415-781-8726 x132. SPUR will work with you in identifying effective auxiliary aids or services that it can provide. If you need to cancel your request, please notify SPUR at least two business days before the event.

Get Email Updates

Get SPUR news and events delivered straight to your email inbox.

Sign up now