San Francisco Good Government Awards 2022

San Francisco City Hall cupola against a blue sky with text that reads 41st Annual Good Government Awards


2022 Good Government Awards 

Thank you for joining SPUR at the 41st Annual Good Government Awards on July 13, where we proudly celebrated the people who exemplify the highest standards of public service. These individuals reflect the City of San Francisco's herculean COVID-19 emergency response efforts. It is an honor to bring our community together and recognize these dedicated public servants.


Learn more about the 2022 honorees




Citywide Emergency Leadership

Extraordinary contributions to the City's coordinated emergency response to the public health pandemic.

Group photo of Citywide Emergency Leadership honorees

(pictured left to right)

Andres Power, Mayor's Office
Adrienne Bechelli, Emergency Management
Ayanna Bennett, Department of Public Health
Jesse Smith, City Attorney


Public Health Emergency Operations

Development, implementation, and management of massive new demands and required services for the City's public health system.

Group photo of Public Health Emergency Operations honorees

(pictured left to right)

Eduardo Sida, Department of Public Health
Jonathan Sears, Department of Public Health
Carla Beak, Controller's Office
Jacque McCright, Department of Public Health
Baljeet Sangha, Department of Public Health
Andrew Murrell, Department of Public Health
Tobi Skotnes, Department of Public Health (not pictured)


Alternate Housing

Design, implementation, and management of a new emergency housing portfolio of over 2,500 units to provide the unhoused and others with safety during the emergency.

Group photo of Alternate Housing honorees

(pictured left to right)

Janice Levy, Office of the Controller
Kelly Hiramoto, Department of Public Health
Doris Barone, Human Services Agency
Robert Walsh, Human Services Agency
Esperanza Zapien, Human Services Agency
Noelle Simmons, Department of Homelessness and Supportive Housing Services
Daniel Kaplan, Human Services Agency


Children and Learning

Rapid and creative deployment of City resources to launch community learning hubs, assist with school reopening efforts, and support the needs of children during the pandemic.

Group photo of Children and Learning honorees

(pictured left to right)

Anne Marie Donnelly, Recreation and Park Department
Joseph John, Department of Technology
Michelle Jeffers, San Francisco Public Library
Dori Caminong, Department of Children, Youth and Their Families
Ana Validzic, Department of Public Health
Sherrice Dorsey-Smith, Department of Children, Youth and Their Families
Shellie Cocking, San Francisco Public Library


Public Information, Communications and Data

Providing both the public and policy makers with accurate, timely, and useful information in an ever-changing environment where trusted information was key to city resident's safety and city leaders decision-making.

Group photo of Public Information, Communications and Data honorees

(pictured left to right)
Deirdre Hussey, Port of San Francisco
Kat Daniel, Office of Economic and Workforce Development
Erica Eilenberg, Department of Public Health
Kristin Hogan, Department of Emergency Management
Lizzy Connelly, Department of Public Health
Scott Tyler, City Administrator
Trang Nguyen, Public Health (not pictured)
Francis Zamora, Department of Emergency Management (not picuted)


Emergency Support

Supporting the City's overall emergency response with needed human resource, contracting, financial, logistics and technology support.  

Group photo of Emergency Support honorees

(pictured left to right)
Kaitlyn Azevedo, City Administrator - Entertainment
Jack Chin, Technology - SFGovTV
Mark de la Rosa, Controller's Office
Kate Howard, Department of Human Resources
Taraneh Moayed, City Administrator - Contract Administration
Nam Li, City Administrator - Real Estate


Economic Stabilization

Planning and implementing efforts to stabilize the City's economy and the infrastructure that supports it during the emergency.

Group photo of Economic Stabilization honorees

(pictured left to right)
George Louie, SFMTA
Heather Green, City Administrator
Natasha Mihal, Controller's Office
Laurel Arvanitidis, Economic Development
Ronda Chu, San Francisco International Airport
Andre Coleman, Port of San Francisco
Robin Abad, Planning Department (not pictured)
Monica Munowitch, SFMTA (not pictured)


Equity and Community Response

Ensuring equitable access to needed city services to the most impacted San Franciscans during the pandemic.

Group photo of Equity and Community Response honorees

(pictured left to right)
Aaron Yen, Department of Public Health
Tracey Packer, Department of Public Health
Valerie Tulier-Laiwa, SFPUC
Isela Ford, Department of Public Health
Diana Ponce de Leon, Economic Development
Jackie Ortiz, Mayor's Office (not pictured)
De'Anthony Jones, Human Rights (not pictured)


Honoree photography by Mark Shigenaga

Past Honorees

List of all past Good Government Award Honorees

Refund Policy

Sponsorship payments: Will not be refunded, as sponsorship benefits take effect immediately and are on-going through the date of the event.

Auxiliary Services

If, in order to participate in a SPUR event, you need auxiliary aids or services for a disability (e.g., qualified interpreter, qualified reader, written materials, taped texts) please submit your request five business days before the event to [email protected] or 415-781-8726 x132. SPUR will work with you in identifying effective auxiliary aids or services that it can provide. If you need to cancel your request, please notify SPUR at least two business days before the event.