June 20, 2023

Honorable Governor Gavin Newsom 1021 O Street, Suite 9000 Sacramento, CA 95814 Sent Electronically

Re: Legislature Transit Budget Package - SUPPORT

Dear Honorable Governor Newsom,

Our organizations strongly encourage you to support the Legislature's transit budget, which includes restoring \$2 billion to TIRCP from the General Fund and a new, 3-year \$1.1 billion appropriation to a Zero-Emission Transit Capital Program from various sources, including the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund, the General Fund, and the Public Transportation Account. These funds are flexible for either transit capital projects or operations.

Though there will remain a multi-billion operating shortfall over the next five years, the \$5.1 billion allocated in the Legislature's budget over 3 years makes meaningful progress towards addressing the immediate statewide transit operating shortfall.

Without adequate operating funding, many of the state's largest systems will slip into a downward spiral and begin cutting service as soon as this fall, making it even more difficult to regrow ridership. Others may fail to compete for federal infrastructure funding if they do not have adequate operating funding—jeopardizing good jobs and undermining this Administration's commitment to maximize infrastructure investments.

It is critical to approve the *full* budget amount proposed for transit by the Legislature to prevent service cuts. If any portion of the Legislature's budget is in jeopardy, we would encourage the Administration to look at other sources of funding, including exercising its authority to use the historically abundant and uniquely flexible federal highway dollars for transit operations, in order to fund transit at least at the level proposed by the Legislature.

We have been here before, and history is a lesson: the losses of the Bay Area's Key system and Los Angeles' extensive streetcar network are still felt today. Once transit slips into a death spiral, it is all but impossible to climb out.

The best thing that the state can do now is to avert catastrophic cuts to transit service. Maintaining at least \$5.1 billion in operations-eligible transit funding will deliver immediate benefits for the millions of Californians who continue to ride transit every day, and will have a lasting benefit on the state's air quality, climate pollution, affordability, and economic opportunity.

We strongly encourage you to preserve \$5.1 billion for transit in the Legislature's budget, and are committed to continuing to work together and with state leaders to put transit on a better financial path and ensure that California has the robust, high-quality transit it needs today and in the future.

Thank you for your ongoing efforts to make California a global climate leader.

The Honorable Toni Atkins, President pro Tempore, California State Senate cc:

The Honorable Anthony Rendon, Speaker, California State Assembly

The Honorable Nancy Skinner, Chair, Senate Budget Committee

The Honorable Phil Ting, Chair, Assembly Budget Committee

The Honorable Maria Elena Durazo, Chair, Senate Budget Subcommittee No. 5

The Honorable Josh Becker, Chair, Senate Budget Subcommittee No. 2

The Honorable Steve Bennett, Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 3

Toks Omishakin, Secretary, California State Transportation Agency

Mark Tollefson, Undersecretary, California State Transportation Agency

Chad Edison, Chief Deputy Secretary for Rail and Transit, California State Transportation

Agency

James Hacker, Deputy Cabinet Secretary, Office of Governor Gavin Newsom

Sincerely,





















ClimatePlan





























































































Laura Tolkoff Transportation Policy Director SPUR	Zak Accuardi Senior Transportation Advocate NRDC	Zack Deutsch-Gross Policy Director TransForm
Eli Lipmen Executive Director MoveLA	Vinita Goyal Executive Director San Francisco Transit Riders	Ian Griffiths Policy Director Seamless Bay Area
Tim McCrae Senior Vice President, Sustainable Growth Silicon Valley Leadership Group	Arturo E. Aguilar Chairman, California Conference Board Amalgamated Transit Union	Richard Marcantonio Managing Attorney Public Advocates
Tiffany Rodriguez TDM Manager San Jose State University	David Sorrell Northern California Chapter of the Association for Commuter Transportation	Marc Vukcevich Co-Director of State Policy Streets for All
Adina Levin Executive Director Friends of Caltrain	Bryn Lyndblad Deputy Director Climate Resolve	Jonathan Matz California Senior Policy Manager Safe Routes Partnership
Abram Diaz Policy Director Nonprofit Housing	Justine Marcus Senior Director of Programs Enterprise Community Partners	Brian Hanlon Executive Director California Yimby
Laura Foote Executive Director YIMBY Action	Maxwell Davis Volunteer Lead Urban Environmentalists	Zoe Siegel Greenbelt Alliance
Sheri Burns Executive Director Silicon Valley Independent Living Center	Jack Swearengen Chair Friends of SMART	Tarrell Kullaway Marin County Bicycle Coalition
Robin Pam Parent Organizer	Igor Tregub Alameda County Democratic Party	Cheryl Weiden Steering Committee

Kidsafe SF		Member 350 Silicon Valley
Bruce England Mountain View Coalition for Sustainable Planning (MVCSP)	Bryn Lindblad Deputy Director Climate Resolve	Michelle Hudson Co-Leader San Mateo Climate Action Team
Solange Gould Co-Director Human Impact Partners	Nassim Nouri Green Party of California Coordinating Committee Green Party of Santa Clara County	Jennifer Thompson Executive Director Sustainable Silicon Valley
Lauren Weston Executive Director Acterra	Hoai-An Truong Mothers Out Front Silicon Valley	Jean Tepperman Sunflower Alliance
Alicia Nichols Gonzalez Organizing Manager, California Mothers Out Front California	Sofia Rafikova Policy Advocate California Coalition for Clean Air	Stephen Baiter Executive Director East Bay Economic Development Alliance
Debbie Mytels Chair Peninsula Interfaith Climate Action	Matthew Baker Policy Director Planning and Conservation League	Steve Birdlebough Chair Sonoma County Transportation & Land Use Coalition
Brian Stewart Founder Electrify Now	Rita Clement Steve Gelb Transportation Co-Chairs San Diego 350	Sara Greenwald Transportation Committee Member 350 Bay Area
Carolina Martinez Climate Justice Director Environmental Health Coalition		