

San Francisco | San Jose | Oakland

September 9, 2015

Governor Jerry Brown c/o State Capitol, Suite 1173 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Governor Brown:

On behalf of SPUR, I am writing to respectfully request that you sign the California Nutrition Incentives Act (AB 1321) introduced by Assembly Member Phil Ting. AB 1321 would establish the Nutrition Incentive Matching Grant Program in the California Department of Food and Agriculture's Office of Farm to Fork to secure available federal funds that will improve public health by increasing low-income families' access to fruits and vegetables grown in California.

In our recently published report, Healthy Food Within Reach, we highlight the importance of reducing the barriers that California families face in accessing healthy food. One of the primary barriers is the affordability of healthy food and one of our top recommendations to help Californians overcome this barrier was promoting healthy food incentive programs like those outlined in this legislation. Known by a variety of names across the country – and as Market Match in California - these programs increase the purchasing power of low-income families by providing them with matching dollars for produce purchases.

Evaluations from across the country have shown healthy food incentive programs to be effective in increasing consumption of fruits and vegetables, which helps reduce food insecurity and has a positive impact on public health. And, when the program is available at farmers' markets, it not only improves the affordability of produce for low-income customers but also increases local farmers' revenue and the economic viability of the regional food system.

The California Nutrition Incentives Act positions our state to take advantage of a proven policy tool that improves healthy food access and supports local farmers. SPUR urges you to sign this bill into law.

Sincerely,

Eli Zigas

Food and Agriculture Policy Director

cc: Martha Guzman-Aceves, Deputy Legislative Secretary

David Friedman

PRESIDENT & CEO Gabriel Metcalf

EXECUTIVE VICE CHAIR Fei Tsen

VICE CHAIRS Alexa Arena Emilio Cruz Wade Rose Bill Rosetti Lvdia Tan

SECRETARY Masharika Maddison

TREASURER Ed Harrington

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR Anne Halsted

BOARD MEMBERS Pang Au Veronica Bell Michaela Cassidy Tilly Chang Madeline Chun Frank Dean Oz Erickson Diane Filippi Peter Garza Geoff Gibbs Gillian Gillett Vince Hoenigman Aidan Hughes Ed Jaieh Laurie Johnson Vijay Kumai Richard Lonergan Ellen Lou John Madden Mary McCue Hydra Mendoza Terry Micheau George Miller Leslie Miller Tomiquia Moss Mary Murphy Bob Muscat Jeanne Myerson Adhi Nagrai Brad Paul Rich Peterson Rebecca Rhine Dan Safier Paul Sedway Doug Shoemaker Ontario Smith Emma Stewart Stuart Sunshine Gary Teague Michael Teitz Mike Thériault Jeffrey Till Will Travis Joaquín Torres Molly Turner Jeff Tumlin Steve Vettel Francesca Vietor Fran Weld Allison Williams Paul Woolford Charmaine Yu