

## San Francisco | San Jose | Oakland

July 15, 2015

San Francisco Planning Commission 1650 Mission Street, Suite 400 San Francisco, CA 94103

RE: Construction of Accessory Dwelling Units in Supervisorial Districts 3 & 8
Case Numbers 2015-005464PCA and 2015-007459PCA

Dear President Fong, Vice President Wu and Commissioners Antonini, Hillis, Johnson, Moore and Richards:

On behalf of SPUR, thank you for the opportunity to comment on the ordinances allowing the construction of Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU) in Board of Supervisors Districts 3 and 8.

SPUR has long advocated making it easier to build or legalize ADUs in San Francisco. Creating ADUs helps add more homes across the city in a way that does not change existing neighborhood character and has limited impact on neighborhood infrastructure. ADUs also provide a subsidy-free path to provide housing units that are typically "affordable by design" because of their size, location and physical constraints.

This ordinance expands Supervisor Wiener's Castro and seismic retrofitting ADU ordinances to the entirety of Districts 3 and 8, which increases the potential for ADUs to help expand the city's housing supply. We support planning staff's recommended modifications to include the formerly-excluded area around a supervisor's home and create consistency for the allowable number of ADUs per property.

SPUR supports these ordinances and thanks Supervisors Wiener and Christensen for their leadership on this topic.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Best,

Kristy Wang

Community Planning Policy Director

Cc: SPUR Board of Directors

Supervisor Scott Wiener Supervisor Julie Christensen

SAN FRANCISCO

654 Mission Street San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 781-8726 SAN JOSE

76 South First Street San Jose, CA 95113 (408) 638-0083 OAKLAND

c/o Impact Hub Oakland 2323 Broadway Oakland, CA 94612 (510) 250-8210 CHAIR David Friedman

PRESIDENT & CEO

Gabriel Metcalf

**EXECUTIVE VICE CHAIR** Fei Tsen

VICE CHAIRS Alexa Arena Emilio Cruz Joan Price Wade Rose Bill Rosetti

Carl Shannon

Lydia Tan
SECRETARY

Masharika Maddison

**TREASURER**Ed Harrington

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

Anne Halsted

BOARD MEMBERS

Pang Au Veronica Bell Michaela Cassidy Tilly Chang Madeline Chun Frank Dean Oz Erickson Diane Filippi Peter Garza Geoff Gibbs Gillian Gillett Vince Hoenigman Aidan Hughes Ed Jaieh Laurie Johnson Vijay Kumar Susan Leal Richard Lonergan Ellen Lou John Madden Mary McCue Hydra Mendoza Terry Micheau George Miller Leslie Miller Tomiquia Moss Mary Murphy Bob Muscat Jeanne Myerson Adhi Nagrai Brad Paul Rich Peterson Rebecca Rhine Paul Sedway Doug Shoemaker Ontario Smith Emma Stewart Stuart Sunshine Gary Teague Michael Teitz Mike Thériault Jeffrey Till Will Travis Joaquín Torres Molly Turner Jeff Tumlin Steve Vettel Francesca Vietor

Fran Weld Allison Williams Paul Woolford Charmaine Yu