

November 16, 2014

San Francisco Planning Commission 1650 Mission Street, Suite 400 San Francisco, CA 94103

RE: Article 2 Simplification and Definition Consolidation (2013.0647T)

Dear Commission President Wu, Commission Vice President Fong, and Commissioners Antonini, Hillis, Johnson, Moore and Richards:

SPUR thanks the Planning Commission for the opportunity to comment on the proposal to simplify and reorganize Article 2 of the Planning Code.

As an advocate for good city planning and good government, SPUR supports this monumental effort to clarify and simplify the Planning Code. We understand the reorganization of Article 2 addressed in this ordinance is one of three planned phases to clean up the Code, with modifications of Articles 7 and 8 to follow. The reorganization and consolidation addressed in this ordinance takes a great step toward making it easier for citizens and practitioners to engage with the planning and development process.

We appreciate the effort to eventually have all zoning districts reference a single set of use definitions and are excited to see that the number of use definitions is shrinking dramatically from 315 to 116. The shift from use charts to zoning control tables is a decision that will be more user-friendly overall.

SPUR applauds the efforts of city staff and Livable City to undertake and champion a complex effort like this. We urge you to move forward with the following two phases of Code reorganization as rapidly as possible.

Thank you for considering our recommendation. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 415-644-4884.

Sincerely,

480-6

Kristy Wang Community Planning Policy Director

Cc: SPUR Board of Directors

SDIID

654 Mission Street San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 781-8726 info@spur.org 76 South First Street San Jose, CA 95113

San Jose, CA 951 (408) 638-0083 infosj@spur.org CHAIR

Anne Halsted

PRESIDENT & CEO
Gabriel Metcalf

EXECUTIVE VICE CHAIR
David Friedman

VICE CHAIRS

Alexa Arena Andy Barnes Emilio Cruz Bill Rosetti Carl Shannon Lydia Tan Joan Price

SECRETARY

V. Fei Tsen

TREASURER

Ed Harrington

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR Linda Jo Fitz

LINGA JO FILZ

ADVISORY COUNCIL
CO-CHAIRS

Michael Alexander Paul Sedway

ROARD MEMBERS Veronica Bell Chris Block Michaela Cassidy Tilly Chang Madeline Chun Charmaine Curtis Frank Dean Oz Erickson Robert Gamble Peter Garza Geoff Gibbs Gillian Gillett Vince Hoenigman Aidan Hughes Ed Jaieh Laurie Johnson Vijay Kumai Susan Leal Dick Lonergan Ellen Lou John Madden Masharika Maddison Mary McCue Hydra Mendoza Ezra Mersey Terry Micheau Tomiquia Moss Mary Murphy **Bob Muscat** Jeanne Myerson Adhi Nagraj Brad Paul Rich Peterson Rebecca Rhine Wade Rose Dan Safier Paul Sedway Elizabeth Seifel Doug Shoemaker Ontario Smith Emma Stewart Bill Stotler Stuart Sunshine Gary Teague Michael Teitz Mike Thériault Jeffrey Till Will Travis Molly Turner Jeff Tumlin Steve Vettel Francesca Vietor Fran Weld

Allison Williams